Feb 2013 Resisting Temptation

5

February 15, 2013 by Mrs W-M

Collecting nettles for homemade fertilizer

Collecting nettles for homemade fertilizer

So far, everything I have read in mags and books screams ‘don’t sow seeds it’s still winter!’ which is fine for me as I still have a lot to do to prep for them. Although the sun starts to shine this month and next, I’m going to be strong and really try hard not to sow anything too early – still waiting to get the Dad shed anyway. Last year nearly all my seedlings were zapped by a late frost in March – too enthusiastic that’s my problem.

However, if you’re getting fed up with waiting, I have read you can plant some garlic or shallots which will last out the rest of the winter months.  I have cheated slightly and was advised by the Gardening Consultant, Dad, to plant my broad beans last November – this he says this makes them tough enough to see off any of the dreaded blackfly and I’m now pretty excited as they are starting to come up – albeit in a slightly patchier layout than I had planned! I might plant more in a couple of months to test the theory!

Broadbeans popping

Broad beans popping up

Other things I’m doing this month are:

Time to tidy up the patch

Time to tidy up the patch

> Tidying up the ground between my raised beds with fresh wood chippings.

> Covering the strawberry plants with plastic bottle cloches

Keeping the strawberries warm

Keeping the strawberries warm

> On the recommendation of my friend Nina, I’m collecting nettles to make a free stinky (but not stinky free!) fertilizer which I can add to as more nettles come up – bit scarce at this time of year!

> Feeding the cabbages –  which look worn out by winter and I don’t think they are going to come of anything, poor things.

> Collecting cardboard seed pots and toilet rolls like mad – built up quite a collection now and have even had some donations (thanks Clive!).

For the rest of the month I’ll be chitting potatoes and preparing the pea site – oh and also pricing up some cloches as I think you should be putting these down to start warming up the ground – but I reckon the mulching should be helping to do that too.

Anyway, I’ll be back later on in the month to catch up on these things.

Hope your veg patch is doing well! x

VEG PATCH FEB 2013-2

5 thoughts on “Feb 2013 Resisting Temptation

  1. Mum says:

    How informative and fascinating dearest daughter. How proud I am of you and envious of all your zest and vigour. My patch is fallow and needs some expert advice that I hope to gain this weekend, whilst I wall paper with you.
    I love the photos and will try to use up as many toilet rolls as possible to send you.

    • Mrs W-M says:

      Thank you Mum! Sorry I’ve taken a while to reply – thanks for the comments! I’m happy to come up and help out on your veg patch when it starts to get warmer – hope the tips are helping in the mean time! xxx

  2. neenslewy says:

    Awww great to see the broad beans popping out, wow. We are still avoiding making a start on our patch, we keep getting snow!
    Next Sunday is ear marked on the calendar, we use pop bottle cloches too on a variety of plants including strawberries.

    Last year, as you know, was a nightmare for the good life with weather and insect infestations and a national slug epidemic – (yuk!) despite all this our strawberries did quite well, they are in there 3rd year now, we started with 10 plants and now have more than I can count on all my fingers and toes!
    Amazing! Mmmmmmmmmmmm (I am pretending I’m eating one right now!)

    • Mrs W-M says:

      Great Neens! My Strawberry plants are looking a bit chilly and small – so really looking forward to getting some sun on their leaves. I guess it’s easier for me to get started as I only have to walk down the garden! I’m holding my breath about the seeds I’ve planted – I’ve never done it before and not sure the window sill is warm enough *gulp* but it’s all about keeping on keeping on! Thanks for the comments xx

  3. neenslewy says:

    Oh I meant to mention the stinky fertilizer – I don’t go anywhere near ours. But once poured you can smell it for miles! (Well hundreds of metres at least) It works though and I guess all fertilizer has a fragrant aura!

Leave a comment

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other subscribers